Sunday, 15 December 2013

Britney Spears 'Britney Jean' Deluxe Edition Album Review

As Spears' eighth studio album, 'Britney Jean' is reportedly Britney's most personal album to date and also an album she has been most involved with, having co-wrote each track that is on the record.

The new album features ten tracks and four bonus tracks:

1. Alien 3.5/5
2. Work Bitch 4/5
3. Perfume 5/5
4. It Should Be Easy (ft. 4/5
5. Tik Tik Boom (ft. T.I.) 3/5
6. Body Ache 3/5
7. Till Its Gone 3.5/5
8. Passenger 4/5
9. Chillin' With You (ft. Jamie Lynn) 2.5/5
10. Don't Cry 3.5/5

11. Brightest Morning Star 4/5
12. Hold on Tight 3.5/5
13. Now That I Found You 2.5/5
14. Perfume (The Dreaming Mix)

'Britney Jean' opens with 'Alien', an average track but is reminiscent of her past sounds of 'Circus' and 'Femme Fatale'.

Lead single 'Work Bitch' gives off 'Don't Keep me Waiting' vibes from previous album 'Femme Fatale' and works successfully in a similar vein to Circus' lead track 'Womanizer', but failed to hit the mark on the charts, peaking at No 12 in the US.

Second single 'Perfume' which is arguably her best track on the record, features a softer beat but a ridiculously catchy hook and chorus.

The collaborations on the album are only average. 'It Should Be Easy' ft Will.I.Am has nothing on their previous collab 'Scream and Shout', whilst Tik Tik Boom is simply annoying. Spears' collab with sister Jamie Lynn sounds forced and really unpleasant to listen to, the mix of bubble gum with some sort of beat really doesn't work.

The latter half of the album is simply lackluster and none of the tracks really stand out. 'Passenger' attempts to leave a mark but will take a few listens to really grab you and unfortunately misses an explosive chorus, or it could be as powerful as Rihanna's 'Fire Bomb'.

'Dont Cry' ends the album as yet another not hate-able track but nothing spectacular.

Thankfully, deluxe tracks 'Brightest Morning Star' actually gives the album some emotion and meaning and somewhat redeems it slightly and 'Hold on Tight' is a likeable track that is soft and not overproduced. These two tracks really should've replaced some of the latter ones on the main album, but the final two tracks of the deluxe are simply filler in my opinion.

Overall, 'Britney Jean' fails to lift Spears' from her downward spiral of mediocrity. Whilst she still has the name and a solid fan base, her sales are falling with this being her lowest selling album to date. Musically, the album is really below average, with only a handful of tracks that I would really admit to liking. Thank goodness there are some worthy deluxe tracks.

Whatever the formula was for 'Circus', it worked. This does not.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think? Add your comment here!!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...