Sunday, 22 April 2012

Owl City 'All Things Bright and Beautiful' Album Review

I've recently been listening to Owl City's 'All Things Bright and Beautiful' and am absolutely in love with it. Having previously been introduced to Owl City about a year ago with tracks 'Brielle' and 'Deer in the Headlights', it wasn't until recently that I looked into their albums... but I'm glad I finally did!

1. The Real World
2. Deer In the Headlights
3. Angels
4. Dreams Don't Turn to Dust
5. Honey and the Bee
6. Kamikaze
7. January 28, 1986
8. Galaxies
9. Hospital Flowers
10. Alligator Sky
11. The Yacht Club
12. Plant Life

Beneath the synth pop beats, the lyrics are beautifully written and wonderfully poetic. The writing style of Adam Young makes Owl City unique. With references to space and nature, we are engrossed in a provocative and effervescent fantasy world through their music.

One of my favourite lines is from ‘The Real World’ which goes “And when the leaves return, and their whisperings fill the night, they’ll freeze and burn when fire and ice collide”. I just haven’t heard lyrics as poetic as this – I cannot name another song as imaginative off the top of my head.

TRACKS TO LOVE: Angels, The Real World, Galaxies, Hospital Flowers, Alligator Sky
TRACKS TO SKIP: Honey and the Bee, January 28, 1986 (intro to galaxies)

Overall, the album is musically very strong and I love so many of these tracks. Having also just heard Owl City's latest song 'Dementia', which has a rockier sound, I am extremely excited for the new album coming out later this year!

1 comment:

  1. Honey and the Bee?! YOU MUSN'T SKIP THAT SONG!!!!! >:O for me it's an amazing song, i think it sounds like the saltwater room :)


What do you think? Add your comment here!!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...