Wednesday, 6 October 2010

Loud- Rihanna Album Preview

Not a year after the release of Rated R, Rihanna is back for a more upbeat album, titled "Loud". Judging from her album cover, her hair and lips speak to us loud and clear that she is going all out to present a brand new image, and succeeds.

The album contains nine confirmed tracks as follows:

1.  S&M
2. What’s My Name? Feat. Drake
3. Cheers (Drink To That)
4. Fading
5. Only Girl (In The World)
6. California King Bed
7. Man Down
8. Raining Men Feat. Nicki Minaj
9. Complicated
10. Skin
11. Love The Way You Lie (Part II) Feat. Eminem

The names themselves do not give much away apart from the fact that there will be some kinkiness in "S&M", but the other titles really don't live up to the edginess we've seen previously. I hate saying this, but the names sound quite common- but with much hope- I'm sure they'll turn out to be the opposite.

Judging from the sound of the first single "Only Girl (In the World)" - a shouty, slightly edgier dance hit, the album will follow suit. Having experienced the heartfelt and dark album "Rated R", it feels strange to be so upbeat and happy so soon.

The second single is called "What's My Name?" and the video has already been shot (in New York City)- the snippets that we've heard sound like the best song yet. EDIT: This song features Drake; his parts are somewhat slow, a nice change to the usual fast and hard rap that goes with Rihanna collabs. The Rihanna parts are really good and definitely catchy and addictive. I love the emphasis she puts in the tone of her words and the chorus is fantastic!

Another song that leaked was "Who's That Chick", as part of a Doritos advertising campaign (read more here), which I like more than "Only Girl" but was autotuned to the MAX, so hopefully the rest of the songs will be a mix of these two tracks.

Overall, it appears this album will have an upbeat sound, attempting to mix "Rated R" With "Good Girl Gone Bad". I cannot wait to hear the rest of the tracks when it is released in mid November.

EDIT2: Rihanna, in an interview, also stated a song called Straight Up Beautiful will be on the record. Either the name has changed, or maybe on the deluxe/extended edition...

EDIT3: Love The Way You Lie Part 2 will also be on the album, which features a stronger female vocal from Rihanna, but will also feature Eminem. A snippet of the lyrics was released in which Rihanna sings "Even angels have their wing cut schemes, and you take that to new extremes, but you will always be my hero, even though you lost your mind.” I can't wait!

Watch the official video for Only Girl:

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think? Add your comment here!!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...